top of page
  • Writer's pictureTajma Cameron

Decedent Chocolate Cake

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

Let get ready for one of the most amazing moist cakes you will ever taste.



I have Grown Up on Chocolate Cake, Loved Chocolate cake I can remember being in the Kitchen With my Mother and some weekends and summers we would bake cakes together and I loved to Lick the batter off the spoon and I would eat the rest of the batter in the bowl. We would sometimes share it.

The fun and the memories

But I grew up and I learned how to make cake from the box and by sheer happen stance I ended up buying Bitter Collocate coco powder UNSWEETENED, thinking I was getting the sweetened coco powder I grew up eating from Hershey, well I had to do something with it... and when you can’t make coco make cake and I discovered at young age that you take maraschino Cherries and added them to the cake and when I tell you it became my favorite cake to make and EVERYONE, I made it for people and they loved it I made it for my best friend from High school... she didn’t like Chocolate cake SHE ATE THAT ONE. Come into the kitchen let me show you my cake. Ingredients


  • Flour

  • 3 egg

  • Oil half a cup

  • 2 ½ cups of water 

  • Tea spoon of salt

  • Half of teaspoon of baking soda

  • Milk 

  • sugar

  • Maraschino cherries

{Now for my cake what you do is you replace the Oil with Chocolate Pudding, Instead of Water Use Pepsi or Cola [don’t want so much extra sugar, use sparkling water and sugar Free Pudding] 

you can get the store bought Maraschino cherries and if you use the sugar free and sparkling water the sugar should be fine specially if you haven’t adds sugar to your base batter} Now you start by Mixing all your Dry Ingredients, then your we ones... I never Milk so I would substitute with Soy Milk, I usually Just don’t use Milk and sub it with something else {More water {sparkling} or soda }  


Now you slow mix your Wet ingredients into the dry until it was smooth and then you pour it into your tins and then you mix your Maraschino cherries in last {remove the amount of liquid from the cherries Unless you remove the amount of liquid from your Water or soda for the balance} or it will then be too were and it will cook up like soupha and end up with that dense cake with big holes in it {dry sponge not what you wanted} now you bake the cake Get your Icing and {I due store bought because ain’t nobody got time for that} 



For a Bunt cake heat and pour it over the came Regular Just ice it as normal  You ready to take it to the Next Level Instead of Cinnamon Buns let's Make Chocolate ones let Go First get you do

Get a Chocolate cake batter, I know weird right, a sugar free chocolate putting already mixed {store bought instead of oil} add your salt, your water or Sparkling {because of the type of bun you could use ginger ale} 2-1/4 cups warm water (110° to 115°) add a maraschino cherry it in until your dough is the right consistence,  Take the dough out let it rise for a hour, then roll out, now you're going to spread instead of just butter on the dough a layer of butter mixed with the maschinao cherry Juice and chocolate icing then sprinkle the coco powder and cinnamon the same seasoning. Over it till covered evenly. {now what about the lemon} you want a twist you can also drop cherries in this layer and then roll it up. ROLL up the dough, slice your rolls out put it in an oven safe container, let it rise again 20 minutes... let it cook for 45 

Get your Icing and then add your warm water heat and pour it over the came Drizzle on top and eat {yes, a sweet heart attack waiting to happen but you’ll die HAPPY.} Want to take it to the next step let's make COOKIES



Ingredients

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour

  • ¾ cup Dutch-process cocoa or Hershey's Special Dark cocoa *instead of the bitter chocolate*

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • ½ teaspoon salt

  • 1 cup of unsalted butter softened

  • 2 cups of sugar plus a little for sugar coating

  • 2 eggs

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

  • Maraschino cherries

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Stir and set aside. Using a mixer combine the butter and sugar until creamed. Add eggs. Mix together. Stir in vanilla. Add flour mixture a little at a time until completely incorporated. Toss in in the maraschino cherries 

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and chill until firm, 1-2 hours. Roll the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls. Pour 1/3 cup sugar into a small bowl or rimmed dish. Roll each ball in sugar to completely coat.

Bake for 11-12 minutes until set in the middle. Move to a cooling rack after 1-2 minutes.

Recipe Notes

Be careful not to over bake. Remove cookies after 11-12 minutes. Baking longer may mean that they harden as they cool. Let cool on a cookie sheet for one minute then move to rack to finish cooling.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page