top of page

We Build Idols to our Past.



have you ever lost something of importance.


- A parent

- A Friend

- Animal

- Home


now let say you had something that reminded you of that place. that home and you kept it, when I was 18 I was Evicted from my mothers child hood home and I saved EVERYTHING i could pack to keep, I had boxes and boxes of stuff and I kept it for years, shifted it from one place to another.


- a house - a room - my dads new home - my storage space - his storage space


because I was determined to take that stuff and put it in my NEW place when I got one over time I ended up starting to get rid of stuff I had to because i just didn't have room to keep them, as ai moved i gather more things and i got rid of stuff and kept stuff.


- at the end of the day, it was just stuff - papers - books - things


they meant something to me but what was it I was holding on to was I holding onto the stuff because I really wanted the stuff or because of the memory that it held of my old home because i had no home, so it comforted me because I had no new Permanent home so that stuff represented that last Permanent home i had that felt like a home and safe and stable , because nothing i had was.


when I gave my life to god I ended up clearing out a bunch of stuff and ended up at the last minute placing my stuff into 2 to 3 containers and kept it where i left.


will I ever see that stuff again, to be honest with you I really don't know I had File folders with some important papers notebooks with notes took, books... etc.


but are those Idols


- can they not be replaced - no my intellectual property can't be replaced (but was it that important if it could be left behind)


how much stuff do we hold onto as Idols that we can't get rid of we must hold onto that thing because it means something to you. it means something to you but do you exalt it above god.


if you were told you had to let that thing go that you had forever it had sentimental value and what if you had to get rid of that thing. would the sentimental value mean more to you the the potential of the better thing you could get if you let that thing GO.


she the problem is this


most of us won't let go of things because it way to hard to let something you have in hand that is tangible for something that you may have to wait for a while to receive that thing and get it replaced back to you.


let us all face it. we HATE to wait.


We live in a wold of immediate everything, everything must be done NOW,


NOW NOW NOW... right now if it takes tens second were having a fit, so don't DARE tell us to give of something that your not planing to hand me the new thing right now... don't let it take a week two weeks a month a year.


people have about 15 temper tantrums and when God doesn't give it to you you get your self together and you wait because your temper tantrums aren't going to move God, it we as people that get annoyed when our kids have temper tantrums and and that what creates parents that are being run by there children instead of the children understanding that they aren't going to get everything they want when they ask for it that shows the child to be respectful and obedient to the parent.


we want what we want and we want it IMIDEATELY we idolize the having of thing or getting a thing

but do we care about god the same way as we do about that things. what if God Gave it to you would you pay attention to that thing more then you will him. because you can idolize your past and your future


God Holds you in a season of pressing where he won't give you nothing you can't make nothing happen no matter how badly you want to make it happen. you have to wait for him to make that move happen


you have to sit and listen to him because if you can't listen and hear him then you can get the direction that will lead you to what you want be your not getting it without him. you can't go back to the old "Idols of you past" because they are comfortable because they are what you know.


see when your in s season of pressing "God Schedules these season and you can't get around them no mater what you do it just happens, and you have to deal with it. we NEVER want to deal with it


but it i in this pressing you realize what you are idolizing more then God. and he WILL make you get rid of these things before he allows you to go forth and move into what it is he is desiring for you to do you may not get it but when you get to where he's taking you all that SEEMING torture to let go of the PAST IDOLS will show you why you need to let them Go.


you don't want it no one wants it because we HATE to let hings go weather they are good or bad for us we want to hold onto them. but when you let it go you find that your peace returns to you because you let it go. when you love GOD more then ANYTHING, even more the n the assignment he gave you he can get you to be obedience... then he may released EVER promise he ever Promised.

so what are you Idolizing from your past that is holding up your Future.


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Let me know what's on your mind

Thanks for submitting!

© 2023 by Turning Heads. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page